Festivals in Nepal



14 Jan

Maghi Parwa / Maghe Sankranti

29 Jan

Martyr’s Memorial Day

29 Jan

Sonam Losar (Tamang New Year)

18 Feb

Democracy Day (Rastraya Prajatantra Dibas)

24 Feb

Maha Shivaratri

26 Feb

Ghyalpo Losar

8 Mar

International Women’s Day

4 Apr

Ram Nawami

13 Apr

Nepali New Year

1 May

International Worker’s Day

10 May

Buddha Jayanti

28 May

Republic Day

28 Jun

Ramjan Edul Fikra

7 Aug

Janai Purnima / Rakshya Bandhan

14 Aug

Shree Krishna Janmasthami

02 Sep

Edul Aajaha

20 Sep

Constitution Day

21 Sep


27 Sep

Phoolpati (Dashain Festival)

28 Sep

Maha Astami (Dashain Festival)

29 Sep

Maha Nawami (Dashain Festival)

30 Sep

Bijaya Dashami (Dashain Festival)

01 Oct

Ekadashi (Dashain Festival)

02 Oct

Duwadashi (Dashain Festival)

05 Oct

Kojagrat Purnima

19 Oct

Laxmi Puja (Tihar Festival)

20 Oct

Tihar Festival

21 Oct

Bhai Tika

25 Oct

Chhat Parwa

25 Dec


30 Dec

Tamu Losar


Visa Requirements

A valid passport and one passport size photo with a light background. Immigration department has not specified the size of the passport size photo.
Visa can be obtained only through payment of cash in the following currency : Euro, Swiss franc, Pound sterling, US dollar, Australian dollar, Canadian dollar, HongKong dollar, Singapore dollar and Japanese yen.
Credit card, Indian currency or Nepalese currency are not accepted for payment of visa fee.

Visa Facility Duration Fee
Multiple entry 15 days US $ 25 or equivalent convt. Currency
Multiple entry 30 days US $ 40 or equivalent convt. Currency
Multiple entry 90 days US $ 100 or equivalent convt. Currency
  • For first visit in one visa year (January to December) gratis visa for 30 days is available only for nationals of South Asian countries like Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.However, visa can be extended from the Immigration Department on payments of visa fee as specified above.
  • Indian nationals do not require visa to enter into Nepal.
  • Nigeria
  • Ghana
  • Iraq
  • Palestine
  • Afghanistan
  • Zimbabwe
  • Cameron
  • Somalia
  • Liberia
  • Ethiopia
  • Swaziland.

They need to obtain visa from Nepalese Embassies or Diplomatic Missions in their respective countries prior to their visit to Nepal.

Tourists can stay for a maximum of 150 days in a visa year (Jan1 to Dec 31)

Department of Immigration of Nepal,
Kalikasthan, Kathmandu, Nepal

Tel : 00977-1- 4433934 / 4429660 / 4438868,
Email: mail@immi.gov.np
Website: www.immi.gov.np

Indian nationals travelling to Nepal must possess any one of the following document –

  • Passport
  • Driving license with photo
  • Photo identity card issued by a government agency
  • Ratio card with photo
  • Election commission card with photo
  • Identity card issued by embassy of India in Kathmandu
  • Identity card with photo issued by sub-divisional magistrate or any other officials above his rank.